Tel 44 (0)20 7589 4325
Fax 44 (0)20 7589 4325
Email:[email protected]



Abraham Ortelius: Brabantiae Germaniae Inferioris Nobilissimae Provinciae Descriptio

Map: BELUX830
Cartographer: Abraham Ortelius
Title: Brabantiae Germaniae Inferioris Nobilissimae Provinciae Descriptio
Date: 1592
Published: Antwerp
Width: 20 inches / 51 cm
Height: 15 inches / 39 cm
Map ref: BELUX830
Stunning map of the Duchy of Brabant, oriented East at top. Historically Brabant was divided into four parts with their own governing capitals; Leuven, Brussels, Antwerp and Tienen (later to be changed for Hertogenbosch). Each of these cities appears on the map. Also appearing on the map are the cities of Brussels, Rotterdam, Liege and Maastricht.

The geography for this map has been sourced from the six-sheet map published in 1536 by Dutch cartographer, Jacob van Deventer (1500-1575). It is said that van Deventer was one of the first people to use the method of triangulation, and that this was perhaps inspired by his contemporary and Dutch mathematician and cartographer Gemma Frisus (1508-1555).

[Marcel van den Broecke "Ortelius Atlas Maps, An Illustrated Guide" 2nd Edition: Ort 65]

Extraordinary original hand colour. Latin text on verso (image avialable on request).